About Farley Mowat

Mowat_photosFarley Mowat was born in Belleville, Ontario, in 1921, and grew up in Belleville, Trenton, Windsor, Saskatoon, Toronto, and Richmond Hill. He served in World War II from 1940 until 1945, entering the army as a private and emerging with the rank of captain. He began writing for his living in 1949 after spending two years in the Arctic. Since 1949 he has lived in or visited almost every part of Canada and many other lands, including the distant regions of Siberia. He was an inveterate traveller with a passion for remote places and peoples. He has forty-two books to his name, which have been published in translations into twenty-six languages in more than sixty countries. They include such internationally known works as People of the Deer, The Dog Who Wouldn’t Be, Never Cry Wolf, Westviking, The Boat Who Wouldn’t Float, Sibir, A Whale for the Killing, The Snow Walker, And No Birds Sang, and Virunga: The Passion of Dian Fossey. His short stories and articles have appeared in The Saturday Evening Post, Maclean’s, Atlantic Monthly and other magazines.


Mowat, Farley McGill
Died May 6th, 2014 at The Northumberland Hills Hospital, Cobourg, Ontario. Beloved husband and best friend of Claire (nee Wheeler) for 48 years. Cherished father of Sandy and his wife Kim of Palgrave, Ontario and David and his family of Calgary, Alberta. Loving grandfather of Justin Mowat of Palgrave and Courtney and, Mellissa Mowat of Calgary. Brother of Rosemary Mowat of Barrie, and John and his wife Dianne of Cobourg. Special uncle to Brian, Jeff, and Matthew Mowat. Predeceased by his parents Angus and Helen Mowat and by his first wife Frances Thornhill.

Books by Farley Mowat

People of the Deer (1952; revised 1975)

The Regiment (1955)

Lost in the Barrens (1956)

The Dog Who Wouldn’t Be (1957)

Coppermine Journey: An Account of a Great Adventure (1958)

Grey Seas Under: The Perilous Rescue Missions of a North Atlantic Salvage Tug (1959)

The Desperate People (1959; revised 1999)

Ordeal by Ice (1960)

Owls in the Family (1961)

The Serpent’s Coil: An Incredible Story of Hurricane-Battered ships the Heroic Men Who Fought to Save Them (1961)

The Black Joke (1962)

Never Cry Wolf (1963)

West-Viking (1965)

The Curse of the Viking Grave (1966)

Canada North (1967)

The Polar Passion (1967)

This Rock Within the Sea: A Heritage Lost (1968)

The Boat Who Wouldn’t Float (1969)

The Siberians (1970)

Sibir: My Discovery of Siberia (1970)

A Whale for the Killing (1972, revised 2012)

Tundra: Selections from the Great Accounts of Arctic Land Voyages (1973)

Wake of the Great Sealers (1973)

The Snow Walker (1975)

Death of a People-the Ihalmiut (1975)

Canada North Now: The Great Betrayal (1976)

And No Birds Sang (Farley Mowat) (1979, revised 2012)

World of Farley Mowat (1980)

Sea of Slaughter (1984)

My Discovery of America (1985)

Virunga: The Passion of Dian Fossey (1987)

Woman in the Mists: The Story of Dian Fossey (1987) American edition of Virunga

The New Founde Land (1989)

Rescue the Earth!: Conversations with the Green Crusaders (1990)

My Father’s Son (1993)

Born Naked (1994)

Aftermath: Travels in a Post-War World (1995)

The Farfarers: Before the Norse (1998 – Reprint 2000)

The Alban Quest The Search for a Lost Tribe (1999)

Walking on the Land (2000)

High Latitudes: An Arctic Journey (2002)

No Man’s River (2004)

Bay of Spirits: A Love Story (2006)

Otherwise (2008)

Eastern Passage (2010)